Lucknow: government and private prices for a plain (non-contrast) MRI of one region, such as the brain, with the source and last-checked date for every figure.
Rs 4,200 to Rs 8,000
Rs 3,500 at KGMU (King George's Medical University)
Rs 3,500 at KGMU (King George's Medical University) (published tariff)
3 October 2026
MRI Scan price in Lucknow: government vs private
Prices are for a plain (non-contrast) MRI of one region, such as the brain. Government hospitals charge less but usually have waiting lists. Where a hospital does not publish its rate we say so, and any estimate is labelled.
| Where | Price | What it includes | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| KGMU (King George's Medical University) Lowest listed price Subsidised, longer wait Contrast extra: Rs 1,300 (published tariff). Rate list undated (page last modified 2023). |
Rs 3,500 | plain; MRI CONTRAST 1300 extra | Published tariff KGMU rate list – Hospital Cost (Basic Rate) |
| SGPGIMS Lucknow Subsidised, longer wait Tariff as on 31 March 2023. Contrast extra: Rs 1,560 (published tariff). |
Rs 4,600 | plain; MRI Contrast 1560 listed separately | Published tariff SGPGIMS Lucknow Tariff as on 31 March 2023 (scanned, 59 pages) |
| Dr RML Institute of Medical Sciences (RMLIMS) Subsidised, longer wait Scan done at a partner centre at the hospital rate. |
Rs 4,000 | paid at RMLIMS; scan done at authorised partner centre; contrast not stated | Published tariff Dr. RMLIMS Diagnostic Network – Official RMLIMS MRI Rates |
| Healthians partner scan centre: Brain MRI Scan Lowest online price across the platform’s partner centres in Lucknow. |
From Rs 4,200 | Not itemised (contrast/film not stated); booking at a Healthians partner scan centre of the user's choice | Published tariff Healthians (healthians.com scans) |
| Ipsum Diagnostic (via Tata 1mg Labs): MRI Brain (MRI) Online price published by the provider. |
Rs 5,100 | Not itemised on page (no mention of contrast, film or CD); e-report to registered email | Published tariff Tata 1mg Labs (1mg.com) |
| Private hospitals and diagnostic centres in Lucknow (typical) Our estimate; not a quote from any hospital. Basis: The previous modelled floor was below the published government rate in Lucknow, so the floor was re-based to the lowest of the 2 published or quoted private prices found in Lucknow; the upper end of the previous range was kept. |
Rs 4,200 to Rs 8,000 | Base procedure; items listed under "what a quote leaves out" are extra | Estimate WhatsTheCost estimate |
| CGHS rate: Tier II city, NABH hospital Reference rate MRI head/brain without contrast. Rate CGHS pays empanelled private hospitals, not a cash price. |
Rs 2,475 | Investigation rate; uniform irrespective of ward entitlement. Plain study (no contrast). | Published tariff CGHS rate list (OM dated 03.10.2025), cghs.mohfw.gov.in |
MRI Scan cost in Lucknow by type
Our estimates by type of MRI scan in Lucknow. These are modelled ranges, not quotes.
| Type | Private price in Lucknow | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Brain MRI (without contrast) | Rs 4,200 to Rs 8,000 | Estimate |
| Brain MRI (with contrast) | Rs 4,000 to Rs 12,000 | Estimate |
| Spine MRI (per region: cervical/thoracic/lumbar) | Rs 3,000 to Rs 10,000 | Estimate |
| Knee MRI | Rs 2,500 to Rs 8,000 | Estimate |
| Abdomen/Pelvis MRI | Rs 4,000 to Rs 12,000 | Estimate |
| Cardiac MRI | Rs 8,000 to Rs 20,000 | Estimate |
| Full Body MRI | Rs 15,000 to Rs 25,000 | Estimate |
| MRI with Spectroscopy | Rs 6,000 to Rs 15,000 | Estimate |
What an MRI scan quote often leaves out
- Contrast (gadolinium) if the doctor asks for a contrast study
- Each additional body region, which is usually billed as a separate scan
- Sedation or anaesthesia support for claustrophobic patients or children
- Films or a CD of the images (the digital report is often free)
- A separate radiologist reporting fee at some hospitals
Ask for an itemised, all-inclusive quote in writing before the procedure.
Where MRI scan is done in Lucknow
Private hospitals and centres in Lucknow include Apollomedics Hospital, Medanta Hospital, Sahara Hospital and Charak Hospital. We list them so you know where to ask. We have not found published prices from them unless they appear in the table above, and we do not rank or recommend any of them.
Prices & sources
Last checked: 3 October 2026. We re-check published tariffs at least every six months and correct errors when they are reported. See how we research prices and our data sources.
- KGMU rate list – Hospital Cost (Basic Rate) · Published tariff · checked 3 October 2026
- SGPGIMS Lucknow Tariff as on 31 March 2023 (scanned, 59 pages) · Published tariff, document dated Tariff as on 31 March 2023 · checked 3 October 2026
- Dr. RMLIMS Diagnostic Network – Official RMLIMS MRI Rates · Published tariff · checked 3 October 2026
- Healthians (healthians.com scans) · Published tariff · checked 3 October 2026
- Tata 1mg Labs (1mg.com) · Published tariff · checked 3 October 2026
- WhatsTheCost estimate · Estimate · checked 3 October 2026
- CGHS rate list (OM dated 03.10.2025), cghs.mohfw.gov.in · Published tariff, document dated 2025-10-03 · checked 3 October 2026
Frequently asked questions: MRI Scan cost in Lucknow
How much does an MRI scan cost in Lucknow in 2026?
For a plain (non-contrast) MRI of one region, such as the brain, private hospitals and centres in Lucknow charge about Rs 4,200 to Rs 8,000. Government options: KGMU (King George’s Medical University), Rs 3,500 (published tariff); SGPGIMS Lucknow, Rs 4,600 (published tariff); Dr RML Institute of Medical Sciences (RMLIMS), Rs 4,000 (published tariff). The type of study and add-ons such as contrast, sedation, implants or biopsy change the final bill.
Where is an MRI scan cheapest in Lucknow?
The lowest actual price listed on this page is Rs 3,500 at KGMU (King George’s Medical University) (published tariff, checked 3 October 2026). It is a subsidised government rate, so expect a queue and less choice of slot. Prices change, so confirm the current rate with the facility before you go.
What does an MRI scan cost at KGMU (King George's Medical University)?
Rs 3,500 for a plain (non-contrast) MRI of one region, such as the brain, according to KGMU rate list – Hospital Cost (Basic Rate) (published tariff). Contrast extra: Rs 1,300 (published tariff). Rate list undated (page last modified 2023). Expect a waiting list and confirm the current rate before you go.
Is a 3 Tesla MRI better than 1.5 Tesla?
A 3T machine gives higher-resolution images and is usually priced higher. Whether it matters depends on the body part and the clinical question, so ask the doctor who ordered the scan whether 1.5T is acceptable.
Why do MRI prices differ so much between centres?
Most of the gap comes from the type of scan (region, contrast, number of regions), the machine (1.5T or 3T) and whether the centre is a hospital department or a standalone diagnostic centre. Compare quotes for exactly the same study.
Does insurance or Ayushman Bharat cover it?
Health insurance usually pays when the procedure is part of a hospital admission or an approved day-care claim; purely outpatient tests depend on your policy’s OPD cover. Ayushman Bharat PM-JAY covers listed packages at empanelled hospitals for eligible families, and diagnostic scans are generally paid as part of an admitted package rather than as standalone outpatient tests. Ask the hospital’s insurance or scheme desk before the procedure, not at billing.
Disclaimer: This page explains prices for general information and education. It is not medical advice and does not recommend any hospital, centre or doctor. Figures marked Estimate are our modelled ranges, not quotes. Published tariffs can change without notice, and the final bill depends on your case. Confirm the current price with the facility and ask a qualified doctor which test or treatment you need.