Lucknow: government and private prices for a laparoscopic cholecystectomy (keyhole gallbladder removal), with the source and last-checked date for every figure.
Rs 50,000 to Rs 1,50,000
Rs 1,000 at KGMU (King George's Medical University)
Rs 1,000 at KGMU (King George's Medical University) (published tariff)
3 October 2026
Gallbladder Surgery price in Lucknow: government vs private
Prices are for a laparoscopic cholecystectomy (keyhole gallbladder removal). Government hospitals charge less but usually have waiting lists. Where a hospital does not publish its rate we say so, and any estimate is labelled.
| Where | Price | What it includes | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| KGMU (King George's Medical University) Lowest listed price Subsidised, longer wait Procedure charge; medicines, consumables and implants are extra. |
Rs 1,000 | procedure charge; consumables/ward not stated | Published tariff KGMU rate list – Hospital Cost (Basic Rate) |
| SGPGIMS Lucknow Subsidised, longer wait Tariff as on 31 March 2023. Procedure charge; medicines, consumables and implants are extra. |
Rs 7,490 | procedure tariff; ward/consumables not stated | Published tariff SGPGIMS Lucknow Tariff as on 31 March 2023 (scanned, 59 pages) |
| Private hospitals and diagnostic centres in Lucknow (typical) Our estimate; not a quote from any hospital. Basis: Previous modelled range kept: internally consistent; no published private price found for this test in Lucknow to check it against. |
Rs 50,000 to Rs 1,50,000 | Base procedure; items listed under "what a quote leaves out" are extra | Estimate WhatsTheCost estimate |
| CGHS rate: Tier II city, NABH hospital Reference rate Laparoscopic cholecystectomy package for a semi-private ward. Rate CGHS pays empanelled private hospitals. |
Rs 32,670 | Package (semi-private ward) per OM Annexure-II: all-inclusive lump sum incl. accommodation, diet, anaesthesia, OT, surgeon fee, medicines/consumables, nursing, routine investigations; implants (lenses, stents, meshes, valves) reimbursed extra at CGHS ceiling rates. Laparoscopic surgery package covers up to 3 days stay. | Published tariff CGHS rate list (OM dated 03.10.2025), cghs.mohfw.gov.in |
| Ayushman Bharat PM-JAY package (HBP 2.2) Scheme Free for eligible families at empanelled hospitals; this is what the scheme pays the hospital. From the 2021 HBP 2.2 package list; the current master could not be retrieved. |
Rs 27,800 | Package rate; implant NA; stratification NA | Published tariff State Health Agency Punjab – 'Health Benefit Package (HBP 2.2)' PDF (AB PM-JAY national package master as circulated) |
- Gallbladder Surgery price in Lucknow: government vs private
- Gallbladder Surgery cost in Lucknow by type
- What a gallbladder removal surgery (cholecystectomy) quote often leaves out
- Where gallbladder removal surgery (cholecystectomy) is done in Lucknow
- Prices & sources
- Frequently asked questions: Gallbladder Surgery cost in Lucknow
Gallbladder Surgery cost in Lucknow by type
Our estimates by type of gallbladder removal surgery (cholecystectomy) in Lucknow. These are modelled ranges, not quotes.
| Type | Private price in Lucknow | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Laparoscopic Cholecystectomy (Standard) | Rs 50,000 to Rs 1,50,000 | Estimate |
| Single Incision Laparoscopic (SILS/SILC) | Rs 80,000 to Rs 2,00,000 | Estimate |
| Open Cholecystectomy | Rs 40,000 to Rs 1,00,000 | Estimate |
| Emergency Cholecystectomy (acute attack) | Rs 70,000 to Rs 2,00,000 | Estimate |
| ERCP + Cholecystectomy (CBD stones) | Rs 80,000 to Rs 2,50,000 | Estimate |
| Robotic Cholecystectomy | Rs 1,50,000 to Rs 3,00,000 | Estimate |
What a gallbladder removal surgery (cholecystectomy) quote often leaves out
- Pre-operative ultrasound, blood tests and anaesthesia check
- Histopathology of the removed gallbladder
- Extra days if the surgery is converted to open
- ERCP if a stone has moved into the bile duct
Ask for an itemised, all-inclusive quote in writing before the procedure.
Where gallbladder removal surgery (cholecystectomy) is done in Lucknow
Private hospitals and centres in Lucknow include Apollomedics Hospital, Medanta Hospital, Sahara Hospital and Charak Hospital. We list them so you know where to ask. We have not found published prices from them unless they appear in the table above, and we do not rank or recommend any of them.
Prices & sources
Last checked: 3 October 2026. We re-check published tariffs at least every six months and correct errors when they are reported. See how we research prices and our data sources.
- KGMU rate list – Hospital Cost (Basic Rate) · Published tariff · checked 3 October 2026
- SGPGIMS Lucknow Tariff as on 31 March 2023 (scanned, 59 pages) · Published tariff, document dated Tariff as on 31 March 2023 · checked 3 October 2026
- WhatsTheCost estimate · Estimate · checked 3 October 2026
- CGHS rate list (OM dated 03.10.2025), cghs.mohfw.gov.in · Published tariff, document dated 2025-10-03 · checked 3 October 2026
- State Health Agency Punjab – 'Health Benefit Package (HBP 2.2)' PDF (AB PM-JAY national package master as circulated) · Published tariff, document dated 2021 (HBP 2.1/2.2; undated) · checked 3 October 2026
Frequently asked questions: Gallbladder Surgery cost in Lucknow
How much does a gallbladder removal surgery (cholecystectomy) cost in Lucknow in 2026?
For a laparoscopic cholecystectomy (keyhole gallbladder removal), private hospitals and centres in Lucknow charge about Rs 50,000 to Rs 1,50,000 (our estimate). Government options: KGMU (King George’s Medical University), Rs 1,000 (published tariff); SGPGIMS Lucknow, Rs 7,490 (published tariff). The type of study and add-ons such as contrast, sedation, implants or biopsy change the final bill.
Where is a gallbladder removal surgery (cholecystectomy) cheapest in Lucknow?
The lowest actual price listed on this page is Rs 1,000 at KGMU (King George’s Medical University) (published tariff, checked 3 October 2026). It is a subsidised government rate, so expect a queue and less choice of slot. Prices change, so confirm the current rate with the facility before you go.
What does a gallbladder removal surgery (cholecystectomy) cost at KGMU (King George's Medical University)?
Rs 1,000 for a laparoscopic cholecystectomy (keyhole gallbladder removal), according to KGMU rate list – Hospital Cost (Basic Rate) (published tariff). Procedure charge; medicines, consumables and implants are extra. Expect a waiting list and confirm the current rate before you go.
Laparoscopic or open surgery: which costs more?
Laparoscopic surgery usually means a shorter stay, while open surgery can mean more days in hospital. Which approach is suitable is a decision for your surgeon.
Does insurance or Ayushman Bharat cover it?
Health insurance usually pays when the procedure is part of a hospital admission or an approved day-care claim; purely outpatient tests depend on your policy’s OPD cover. Ayushman Bharat PM-JAY covers listed packages at empanelled hospitals for eligible families, and diagnostic scans are generally paid as part of an admitted package rather than as standalone outpatient tests. Ask the hospital’s insurance or scheme desk before the procedure, not at billing.
Disclaimer: This page explains prices for general information and education. It is not medical advice and does not recommend any hospital, centre or doctor. Figures marked Estimate are our modelled ranges, not quotes. Published tariffs can change without notice, and the final bill depends on your case. Confirm the current price with the facility and ask a qualified doctor which test or treatment you need.